How do I make a skybox?

Hello,

I am creating a space game for my computer science project at college and I read that using a technique called a skybox can make the 3D world seem a lot bigger than it actually is.

I know the fundamentals of python but I am an absolute beginner to panda3D. I have read different things on the internet to no success and now I am completely clueless on where to even begin with creating a skybox.

Is making a skybox a bit too out of my league for a beginner? Or is it something I can definitely do?

Hope some of you can help!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum :smile:

A skybox is 100% something you can accomplish. Effectively to create a skybox we want a 3d cube with a texture on each face there are lots of premade ones but you can also make one pretty easily. Once we have a 3d model creating one in Panda3D is simple.

# Load the skybox
self.skybox = loader.loadModel("skybox/name_of_your_skybox")
self.skybox.setScale(2000)
self.skybox.reparentTo(render)
self.skybox.setShaderOff()
self.skybox.setBin('background', 0)
self.skybox.setDepthWrite(0)
self.skybox.setLightOff()

What the above does is make it so the box has no depth and will be unaffected by any lights we’ve . Finally setBin helps us set when a model will be rendered and so any models in background will be the first ones drawn. Combining all of this will create a skybox.

Code is from this post.

If you need any additional help feel free to ask. :smile:

1 Like

I just wanted to through out that you can also make skyboxes using displayRegions, which is useful if you want to have visual effects like a much greater fov on the skybox than the regular world, which is what some other engines use as their definition of “skybox”.

skyBox = loader.loadModel('skyBoxes/skybox')

base.camNode.get_display_region(0).set_sort(1)#ensure the skybox display region is behind
viewSky = base.win.make_display_region(0, 1, 0, 1)
viewSky.set_sort(0)

lens = PerspectiveLens()