segfault with panda3d

Hi folks.

I’m starting with panda and python on a gentoo_x64 system. I compiled panda my own with the latest cvs tree (date 11.Sep).
So I started coding and got a segfault while importing DirectStart.

import direct.directbase.DirectStart

yes, thats all the code :wink: and i get this output

localhost panda3d% python main.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Known pipe types:
  glxGraphicsPipe
(all display modules loaded.)
zsh: segmentation fault  python main.py

i compiled panda with

makepanda/makepanda.py --everything --optimize 3 --no-jpeg --no-max2011 --no-max2010 --no-max2009 --no-max9 --no-max8 --no-max7 --no-max6 --no-maya2011 --no-maya2010 --no-maya2009 --no-maya2008 --no-maya85 --no-maya8 --no-maya7 --no-maya65 --no-maya6

could somebody help? any hint on how to debug this would also help.

greetings
nurbs999

I would start by running pview, just to prove you get the same segment fault there.

Then I would change “load-display pandagl” to “load-display tinydisplay” to see if you get a segment fault then. If you don’t, then there is probably something wrong with your OpenGL drivers. Do other 3D applications run successfully? Can you update your drivers?

David

pview produces the same segfault.
where do i set the “load-display” driver?
i already have the newest drivers; btw its a Intel X4500 gpu
all other openGL applications run fine. i used another engine before i started with panda and opengl ran fine.

The setting is made in your Config.prc file.

OpenGL provides several different interfaces to open a window in X11. It may be that Panda’s choice of interfaces happens to be buggy in your drivers, whereas another pathway would work fine. It’s difficult to speculate from here. Are you familiar enough with C++ to research this further in the source code?

David

tinydisplay works, i only get the segfault when using opengl.