Model moves in a very jerky way the further it is from the origin

Not exactly a scripting issue, but I’m new to the world of 3D dev so not really sure where to start investigating this one.

So far I just have a task that moves my satellite 0.5m/s in the x direction. If I’m close to the origin, everything is fine, but if I place my satellite at ~ 0, 100000, 0, then it starts being jerky as it moves, and if I place it 10x further away, it’s even jerkier.

I’ve tried disabling as many things as possible to isolate the issue. I’ve removed the other models, I commented out simplepbr, I even commented out all the lights and I still see the same behavior.

What might be causing this? Or if you have some tips on where you might look I would appreciate that as well.

At 500,000 away from the origin (along the Y axis, not that that should make a difference)
500000 away

At 5,000,000 away from the origin
further away

I also tried doing this with the cube to eliminate the idea that the model is the source of the issue but I got the same thing.

Welcome to the wonderful world of limited floating point precision :slight_smile:

This is sadly a common issue when you have objects far far away from the origin, you reach the limit of the single precision floating point variables : because you have huge values, the “lower” digits are simply truncated to fit into the mantissa (roughly speaking in single precision you can store about 6-7 digits in the mantissa). So, the actual position becomes jerky due to this truncation.

Two solutions:

Move the origin as close as possible to your object to make the position value more compatible limited precision. Usually this is done by putting the camera at the origin and move everything relative to it.