Many troubles exporting models to egg

Hello All,

I’m new to panda3d and I’m loving the engine, except the model pipeline.
This has been bothering me for a couple of days now.
Here are my failed attempts of getting a useful model into panda:

Couldn’t install any of the plugins both in 3DS max nor maya. Max’s plugin is apparently unmaintained and Maya is 64 bit.

Model in maya (simple cube) > export to binary (.mb) > use maya2egg2012:
Failed. My maya is 64 bit and the tool is 32 bit.
I could compile from source to try and fix this, but after spending 4 hours on my mac (I’m on windows now) compiling from source,
I am not willing to do that again (had to fix inumerous problems in the build script. It didnt find the headers paths nor the libs. there were so many -L/bla/bla -I/bla/bla -lpython I get nightmares with gcc now).

Model in Max (simple cube) > export Collada .DAE > use dae2eggg:
Actually worked! At this point I’m somewhat excited. The designer of the game (I’m the programmer)
does not use Max, so lets try Collada from maya.

Model in Maya (simple cube) > export Collada .DAE > use dae2eggg:
Worked too!
Finally! let’s try some more things.

I want to test if animations are well supported by the dae2egg converter.
Max (don’t really know how to use maya. Designer will replicate my experiment with maya. I’ll keep you posted.) > create cilinder > create some bones > create a HI solver for the bones > rig the cilinder to the bones > make a simple 3-keyframe animation (cilinder contracts and then expands back out).
Simplest animation one can make right?
Except now I cant convert it to egg, dae2egg simply goes OOM.
Seriously, OOM?? 3GB+ of memory is not enough to convert a simple cilinder with bones (no pun intended)??

Here’s the log:

C:\Users\Salvia\Desktop>dae2egg minhoca.DAE minhoca.egg

Reading minhoca.DAE
:daeegg(warning): Invalid integer in <frame_rate> tag: '30.000000'
Couldn't allocate memory page of size 131072: Error code 8