Custom GUI Controls

Hi everybody,

I’m new to Panda3d and I’m trying to implement the following: I have a mechanical arm 3d model with several joints; I’d like to control these joints with a set of custom UI controls to put in aspect2D (eg. a draggable slider controls with custom 3D appearance), but I am not sure how I should proceed.

• Shall I customize the “look and feel” of existing DirectGUI controls, like DirectSlider? In such case, where can I find instructions on how this can be done?
  • Do I have to create my DirectGuiWidget(s)? Again, do some instructions or tutorials exist for this?
  • Shall I just reparent 3D models to aspect2D then implement mouse actions (eg. dragging) with the P3D collision detection mechanism?

Thanks in advance!

The third option is suitable as a solution to your problem, I think you need to implement the gizmo principle to work in 3D. As far as I know, panda does not have a ready-made solution for controlling through the 3D world.

The only thing I don’t understand is why you should use aspect2d for this, it doesn’t make any sense.

Greetings, and welcome to the forum! I hope that you find your time here to be positive! :slight_smile:

So, to address your questions:

Ultimately, this is up to you–up to whether you want to customise the controls, whether you want to spend the time and other resources on doing so, and so on.

The short version is that it’s largely done via parameters provided to the various widgets, which should be found listed in the manual, here:
https://docs.panda3d.org/1.10/python/programming/gui/directgui/index

(Note that the pages for the various widgets I believe only list those parameters specific to those widgets, with parameters introduced by parent-classes being listed in full on the pages for those classes (or the main page covering DirectGUI. So, for example, a DirectButton accepts a variety of parameters specific to DirectButton–but also accepts parameters specific to its parent-class, DirectFrame.)