3DS Max 2008

I tried searching the forums but I could not find the information I needed. I’m using 3DS Max 2008 and I do not know how to export models to egg files. Also, how do I add collision meshes/collision spheres to the models.

In the Roaming Ralph environment.egg file, the trees and rocks can be detected for collision separately from the ground, although they are in the same file. How could I do this?

I’m kinda new to panda but i’m using max as well, probably the rocks are different entities inside the model.

About exporting i don’t think there’s an exporter for max 2008 since the only available are for max 6-9 (i had to downgrade to max 8 to be able to load the plugin)

The max exporter sucks. (read: hasn’t been maintained for a long time.) You’re better off first converting it to maya, then to Panda3D. But, you’d probably need to have Maya installed for that.

For collision spheres, the only way I know is manually. Please consult the Egg Syntax Reference:
panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Egg_Syntax
There’s a link there to the full eggSyntax.txt at SourceForge, which contains everything you need.

I think the rocks are given a different collision mask in the egg file.

Sorry for jumpingo n it but is it better to export it to maya and then to egg than to blender and then to egg?

Maya has full support for all features since the maintainers of the Panda use Maya. In the terms of support, Blender is the second. 3DS Max is the last.

Ok, so I’ll use Maya, which version would be the best to use? Also,can someone please type a walkthrough of the export process (including links to required programs if possible) as well as how to add collision meshes to the ground and different objects within the model. Thanks in advance.

Any version up to 2008 is good, I think.
For exporting guide:
panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Converting_from_Maya

Thank you very much for this help, you have saved me the frustration that I would have had if I tried to do this myself.