Working on a game with working title: Omicron 35

Hello! I have been tinkering with Panda3D for some time now and have put together a teaser trailer for a game I am working on. I thought you might find it interesting.

I am trying to create an atmospheric experience, which I showcase in the teaser. Feedback is of course very welcome, both to the teaser, game graphics and the source code :slight_smile:

The teaser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtAMTK0i6H8

The GitHub: https://github.com/MaxwellSalmon/Omicron35 (Still in very early stages)

Here are some screenshots from the game:

Thank you for your time!

7 Likes

The teaser is beautiful! I downloaded the codebase from GitHub, and got it running - there’s a hardcoded path the the egg files that was a very slight problem for me - but I did bring up ‘prototype.py’. Are there resources not checked into the project? I can walk around the world, but it’s all grey except for the clothes and door. :slight_smile:

Anyway, I am just learning about Panda3D and appreciate your sharing with us!

(I have a game in mind - more of a VR training thing that a game, really - that would also take place in snow!)

PS - To fix the .egg path, I did this:

ln -s ./textures/ ../../../Python37/Portfolio/Panda3D/Omicron\ 35/textures

1 Like

Thank you! I am glad you find it interesting :slight_smile: Oops, the prototype.py should not even be there. It is really old and I forgot everything about it. The file to run is main.py.
The textures are probably from when I exported them from Maya… Hmm, perhaps I need to apply the textures when loading them, so they do not have hardcoded paths. I did not think that would be an issue. Thanks for notifying me!

I ran “main.py”, but that’s an extremely small test - one brown rectangle floating in space, and the word “TEST”. Right?