Wireframe objects

Hi

Does panda have a feature to generate a simple wireframe cube? Im totally new to 3d in general, but have a bit of python experience. The manual is very good, and covers texturing the cube but not making one.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
jjbutler88

Hi,

It is not recommended to generate models procedurally, except in very special cases (e.g. terrain). You are better off modeling a simple cube in a modeling program, and exporting it to Panda3D.

Though, if you still want to create a cube procedurally, there is a sample program which describes how to do that, the Procedural Cube sample.

To set the render mode to wireframe on a particular NodePath object, use the setRenderModeWireframe() function, or, if you want to toggle wireframe mode for your entire scene, you can use base.wireframeOn().

Hmm, ok it would probably be better if I just explained what I want to do. I want to make a 3D cube that can rotate and each side can change color. If I make a wireframe cube in maya, can I import it and then color the sides?

Thanks

Ah. You can do either, whatever you think is best. If you want each face to be able to change color, the procedural cube thing might be easier, since you have full control about the vertex colors. The other way is also possible, though.

Note that there is no difference between a filled cube and a wireframe cube – you model it the same way, just a cube. The only difference is that you give it a different render mode (using setRenderModeWireframe() or setRenderModeFilled()).

EDIT: Now I think of it, there is also a third way, using CardMakers which is even easier, actually. Just place 6 cardmakers in a way so they make a cube. You can give each card a different color very easily. Downside of this approach is that they can’t share the same vertices. Whatever you think is easier though, all three approaches will work fine.