windowless Panda3d?

Hello everyone,

Panda3d beginner here.
I’m trying to write a windowless panda3d program(server side for client/server architecture games)
and the problem is i dont even know how to initialize panda3d without graphic stuff.

I’ve tried google about this, all i found is
load_prc_file_data("", “window-type none”);
but this doesnt work for me.

Currently using:
Panda3d1.9.2
Qt5.7.0
MSVC2015
Windows10SDK

Hope you guys can help. Thanks.

It doesn’t look like a compatibility problem.
Maybe the panda3D development team given up the cpp version already, like i cant even start a panda3d 1.10.0 project, no matter the offical built or mine, it just crash at start-up.
:frowning:

some Panda3D features can be used without graphics rendering.
what you need to do is not to run directstart or showbase.showbase (it’s with python , for CPP it’s different).

panda 1.10 is not stable version yet so it can not be judged that CPP is given up.

Thank you for the reply.

But there’s too few documents for panda3d in CPP. I don’t know how to do works without help.
Like loading models, the function i knew and tried is WindowFramework::load_model(). besides this, I found ‘loader’ class, but I don’t even know how to use it, no documents, no examples.

Oh shit mistakes in my last post, ‘loader’ class is in python, not cpp.

So by now the only one way I found to load models in panda3d cpp is WindowFramework::load_model(), which means I do need to create a panda3d windows?

:frowning: Could somebody help me plz

if you import the “window” class in CPP, do you have to create the window? i don’t use CPP with Panda3D so i don’t know about this.
but, even if you have to create a window, you can create a small window or you can hide the window, and draw nothing in the window. then you can still think: your Panda3D application is windowless.