Which way of using Panda3D to play cut-scenes is better?

Hello there. I’m just a beginner, as far as using Panda3D is concerned.
I’d like to know just one thing… I have to make some cut-scenes (events/animations - without interaction). I’m gonna use Blender to create models, animate them etc. Which way of using panda to render it is better, export all the objects and start programming every move etc. or should I export the whole animation with all details (environment, characters etc.) to the egg file and with Panda3D just start the show with a few lines of code?

I’d say it depends on the precise needs of your application. But since Blender’s animation tools are probably superior to Panda’s, unless you have any need to make dynamic adjustments to your cutscene at run time, it’s probably easier to animate the whole thing in Blender and just play it back in Panda.

David

Thanks, I’ve got just one more question. Is there any easy way of exporting camera movement and rotation? For example in blender at timeline I’m setting keyframes for camera location and rotation and I’d like to export it.

I’m using Egg R85 and Panda 1.7.

Maybe is there any way to put armature for camera, and force camera to rotate and move as the bone moves (BTW. I don’t know how to do it in blender too :wink: ).

Tanks for any replies.

You can create a curve in Blender and use that as motion path in Panda3D.

Wow, what a coincidence.
Here is an example of using nurbs curves from Blender for camera animation:
youshare.com/Guest/5376d3a5ea7b64d9.zip.html
The lookAt method here tells the camera to look at the (center of) the model.
You can export empties and tell camera to look at them instead, so the camera can focus at just about anywhere.
You might also be able to move an empty with another curve and tell the camera to kook at that as well.

You’re great :slight_smile: Thank you very much.