Warnings

I’m new to Panda3D but am excited about the possibilities, after having used Irrlicht and tried and failed to use Ogre (too complex, in my opinion).

I have followed the helpful manual as well as I could but two things came up. First, the manual doesn’t specify what type of project to start.
http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/How_to_build_a_CXX_Panda3D_game_using_Microsoft_Visual_Studio_2008
Is it supposed to be a Win32 Console Application or a Win32 Project or something else?

Second, after trying to use Win32 Console Application, setting the project to Release, removing NDEBUG and adding the libraries, I get a ton of warnings on trying to compile. There are actually no errors and the examples run fine (which was really nice to see) but here are some of the warnings:

1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\stl_compares.I(135) : warning C4311: 'reinterpret_cast' : pointer truncation from 'const void *' to 'unsigned long'
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configPageManager.I(71) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configPageManager.I(96) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configPageManager.I(123) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configPageManager.I(149) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configPageManager.I(175) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configVariableCore.I(172) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
1>d:\programming\panda3d-1.6.2\include\configVariableCore.I(203) : warning C4267: 'return' : conversion from 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data