Vertex Morphing Details in Panda3D

Better way to impliment vertex morphing?

• By having all morph targets in one mesh description
  • By having seperate mesh fo each morph target (may be even seperate egg files for each targets)

0 voters

Hi,
I require Vertex Morphing Animation.
Here is the present situation (I think) in Panda.

1. .egg can contain multiple points for each vertex.
  2. No way to export morphing data from blender.
  3. No inbuild functionality in panda3d where user can set a new .egg file as target for vertex morphing.
    #note: Assuming that the vertex count and order are same as in original mesh and target mesh.
    #note: modeler blender with chicken 69 exporter.

To workaround we can:

1. Add a functionality in Panda3d to work out the solution described in point(3) above.
  2. add additional vertexes by post-processing .egg file after export from blender.

I personally prefer first option but for immediate requirement second option (I am new to python and would write egg file handling better than making a separate functionality in Panda3d), so now the question is, how to do it?
If somebody can help me with few details:

1. exactly where in the egg file are the vertexes of the target morphs?
  2. After processing the egg file how in code do we animate vertex morphing?
  3. Also if i go the first method way, can any friendly and experienced person guide me to stuffs as (in game vertex modification techniques in Panda3d)

Finally a bit of confirmation for blender:

1. If we make a mesh and do object copy of it, then modify only by positioning of vertexes to new locations and finally exporting both separately using chicken 69 exporter. Are both export ‘vertex morphingly’ compatible???

thanks in advance for the above solution and thanks a lot for the wonderful Panda3d.

with regards,
Amit