Using a shader on GeoMipTerrain (C++)

Hi guys, I’m new to Panda3D ( have been working with Irrlicht for some years ) and I would like some advice.

First of all, engine seems very nice. Using the API examples it took only some days to get a couple of nice working small (learning) programs to work.

There is one thing I don’t seem te be able to get running, not even after hours of browsing through the manual and the forum:

Is there some ‘special’ way to activate shaders in C++ ?

I can set up shaders, load them and they actually compile (since I can see shader compiler errors in the console when I make a typo)

But I cannot get it to give me any result. I’m using the example code found on the forum at

discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic … thsculptor

and translated it into C++.

The program is running, there are no errors in the console, but the terrain is simply showing some texture stages, not caring for the shader.

Even when I change the fragment shader to output o_color as a red (or any) color, it still shows the textures. Just seems like the shader is activated at all.

Here is the basic thing setting up the shader:

window->get_graphics_window()->get_active_display_region(0)->set_clear_color(Colorf(0.4, 0.5, 0.7, 1));
Texture* tex0 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/default_d.png")); 
Texture* tex1 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/grayRock.png")); 
Texture* tex2 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/hardDirt.png")); 
Texture* tex3 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/bigRockFace.png")); 
Texture* tex4 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/shortGrass.png")); 
Texture* tex5 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/default_c.png")); 
Texture* tex6 = TexturePool::load_texture(Filename("VPB_ProjectFiles/EarthSculptor/default_l.png"));