Using a rigged ManuelbastioniLAB character in Panda 3D

I am trying to use the ManuelbastioniLAB Blender add-on at http://www.manuelbastioni.com/manuellab.php (which is a MakeHuman replacement) with Panda 3D.

I have successfully created a character with Blender 2.79 and loaded it as an Actor in Panda 3D. However, when I move the leg using a Python script, the leg moves to the new position as expected but also distorts horribly.

Has anyone used the ManuelbastioniLAB characters with Panda 3D and if so, what do I need to control in order to move the body parts without the distortion I am seeing ?

Does ManuelbastioniLAB expect the characters to be used with the Blender Game Engine or should I be able to move the leg (for example) within Panda 3D without seeing visual distortion ?

While I am an experienced programmer, I am very new to the game engine and Blender world, so there may be some basic concepts I am missing. If that is the case, feel free to point me in the correct direction and I will be happy to read whatever tutorial or reference material you point me to.

For example, I don’t know at the moment how, in Panda 3D, I can stop the leg from rotating forward past what a real human leg should not be able to do or whether this is something I have to handle manually.

Thank you for any help you can give.

What you are asking about is called Inverse Kinematics. Panda3D does not currently support it out-of-the-box but it is possible to implement one on top of Panda3D.

Thank you rdb.

From various keyword searches and from reading various posts, it doesn’t look like there’s an already existing IK module which can be directly used with Panda3D.

I have come across suggestions that ODE might be suitable but with the warning that the ODE implementation isn’t a “real” IK implementation. I also can’t see a way that Bullet would be suitable here unless I have missed something.