Trouble with texture

Hello everyone,

I am trying to make a texture for a building. To describe my situation in better detail, imagine using a default cube like the one you find in Blender 3D, and then scaling it to create variable-sized buildings. Then, I need in 4 of the 6 faces to apply a texture of windows such that the windows repeat instead of stretching.

I know that this could be in the manual, however all of my attempts to achieve the desired effect have failed me in one way or another, such that I am not being able to apply the texture to all the desired faces, or doing so but having the texture stretch instead of repeat, and sometimes centered awkwardly.

While this is my main question, I do have a second question (but not as important) on how easy it is to implement a normal map in Panda3D… I am not experienced in normal mapping by any means nor do I understand well how it works, but from what I have seen (mostly outside of Panda3D) it seems to be that after you generate the “normal” image off the texture you then apply it to the surface with the texture specified as being a normal map. Could such procedure be used in Panda3D and if so, how?

Thanks in advance,
Okal

As to applying your textures and having them repeat, you might apply them as you did when they ended up stretched, then set a texture-scale such that they repeat horizontally. Something like this:

myModel.setTexture(myTexture)
myModel.setTexScale(TextureStage.getDefault(), 4, 1)

(Note that the above is untested, so it’s possible that I’ve made mistakes in it!)

For more information, see this page.

As to normal-maps, you can do that indeed, I do believe! See this page for more information.

Note that having normal maps take visible effect calls for adding at least one (non-ambient-)light to the scene, and starting the shader generator–or, of course, writing your own shaders.