Textures wrap and not using materials?

Hello,
I’m new in Panda, but I used some other engines like Unity3D (and others).

I cannot understand why some “effects” are applied at textures level and not “material” level.
For example, wrapping UV is applied to textures, but I don’t understand why it is not a material feature.
In fact, I can load a texture, then I will decide, using materials, if that texture will be clamped or wrapped (using repeat) over a specific model.

Maybe I’m missing something.
Can you help me to understand the pipeline? How can I apply the same texture using different wrapping modes to different models?

Thank you for your help!

Panda3d has a very exposed API, you as the programmer have access to… everything, this is one of Panda’s original design goals. Tools like Unity3D (from what I have seen) are more specific at hiding what actually goes on in the background.

When a texture is applied to a model, it has several things attached to that, UV coordinates, and the mode as to how it’s applied (stretch, clamp, etc) those are naturally, and programmatically, tied to a texture.

A material in a sense, is a different programmatic stage, and while it also has ties to a texture, is a very different place in code. A model can have a texture, and UV coordinates, with a texture mode (clamp, stretch, etc) without explicitly having a material assigned to it.

Normally most of this fun jazz would be hidden behind your modeler/exporter (be it Blender, Maya, etc) otherwise you’d have to refer to the manual and lay out the code for each model, etc. For that you can refer to most of the manual pages on Materials, Texturing, etc.

This is just from my knowledge, and perhaps someone who has a little bit more knowledge will clarify anything else or anything obscure I’ve said.

Hope this helps,
~powerpup118