Terrain Issue

First off, I’m quite new to Panda3D. Now that that is out… =P

I’m having problems getting my terrain to work properly. I made my own little terrain in L3DT and then exported the height map and the texture map. Here is the way I try to use those maps:

self.terrain = GeoMipTerrain("scene")

self.terrain.setHeightfield(Filename("heightmap.png"))
self.terrain.setBlockSize(32)
self.terrain.setFactor(10)
self.terrain.setFocalPoint(base.camera)
self.terrainRoot = self.terrain.getRoot()

self.terrainRoot.setTexture(loader.loadTexture("terrainmap.bmp")) 
self.terrainRoot.setPos(0,0,0)
self.terrainRoot.reparentTo(render)
self.terrainRoot.setSz(30)
self.terrain.generate()

And I use:

self.actor.setZ(self.parent.terrainRoot, self.parent.terrain.getElevation(self.actor.getX(self.parent.terrainRoot), self.actor.getY(self.parent.terrainRoot)))

… to set the position of my actor on each “move()”.

That “seems” to work for the basics(the hills are hills, the character can run around, etc) but for some reason when my character(ralph) runs around, he goes partially inside the ground sometimes(on the hill). I’m not sure if I’m not writing the code right, the geometry is not being done right, etc. I’d really appreciate someone shedding some light on my problem, if possible.

Also, I’m just using the basic camera collision code that is from the first Ralph sample program, and when I run down a hill(I start at the top of the hill on program load), the camera follows it for a bit but then stays at it’s Z and won’t follow the character down to it’s location. When ralph runs back up the hill, the Z returns to right behind him and at the right height, etc.

On the subject of the camera behaviour, perhaps you should post that code as well. It sounds, at least, as though you’re only adjusting the camera when the terrain is too high for its current position, and not when it’s too low.