Terrain insert object with map

Hello i want to insert repeat object (like grass.egg, rock.egg, tree.egg) in my terrain with use similiar technical like heightmap

I create terrain with heightmap
I want to insert in my terrain repeat tree.egg when rockmap.png is black

for example this is my terrain :

this is my tree map :

i want that left map have lot of trees and right map nothing, I’m not very good at glsl
is there any code in panda3d that could help me do this or who does this?

You might want to do this on the CPU and not the GPU (e.g., with GLSL). I would probably do something like the following when loading the scene:

• Define a way to sample the tree map. This would likely be a 2D uniform grid over the terrain.
  • For each sample point, do a lookup into the texture/image using PNMImage
  • Based on the result, place an instance of the object.

This could result in a lot of objects, which could have pretty noticeable performance impacts. To fix this, I would probably use some of the NodePath.flatten_*() functions. In particular, flatten_strong().

EDIT: Doing this on the GPU would likely be a lot faster to render, but it gets a lot more complicated. It would likely involve the use of a compute shader and multi-draw indirect type features (not show how/if these are exposed in Panda). This would also limit the type of graphics hardware that could run the game. So, I would only look toward the GPU if the CPU solution is still too slow.

I’ve done it the way @Moguri suggests using GeoMipTerrain.

https://www.panda3d.org/reference/python/panda3d.core.GeoMipTerrain.php

Some other details that might help:

I had a dictionary of (R,G,B) keys that corresponded to colors in a PNMImage. The value held something like {‘path’: ‘path/to/model_or_picture’, ‘is_billboard’: True }. That way you have the path, and you can switch between loading a model and making an image into a billboard (CardMaker). Of course, you could just check the extension.