Strange behavior when using reparentTo() and attachNewNode() with joints

Hello, I am relatively new to Panda3d and had scripting issues. I think I found a workaround now but was hoping someone here could clarify panda’s behavior for me, as it really felt a little bit erratically to me.

When I tried to reparent or attach nodes to joints of my model, I would often get the error “argument 1 must be panda3d.core.NodePath, not NoneType”. However, depending on the functions within my code I am making the call from, it can also work without issues.

An example would be this test here I made:
In this function of a class wich first loads a model and then attaches additional nodes on the joints, I added a testJoint and then attached a testNode. No issues within the loop.

def setupLights(self):
    for item in self.lights:            
        slight = Spotlight('slight'+item[0])
        slight.setColor((1, 1, 1, 1))
        lens = PerspectiveLens()
        #lens.setFov(150)
        slight.setLens(lens)
        #slight.showFrustum()
        #slight.setAttenuation((1, 0, 0.1))
        slnp = render.attachNewNode(slight)
        slnp.setPos(0, 0, 0)
        slnp.reparentTo(item[1])
        #slnp.reparentTo(self.obj.exposeJoint(None, "modelRoot",jointName = "Main_Thruster_Star_Prefire")) #for testing
        slnp.lookAt(self.obj.exposeJoint(None, "modelRoot",jointName = item[0]+"_Tail"))
        self.obj.setLight(slnp)
        testJoint = self.obj.exposeJoint(None, "modelRoot",jointName = "Main_Thruster_Star_Prefire")
        testNP = testJoint.attachNewNode("NPTest")
    #end setupLights()

Now I just moved testJoint and testNP outside the loop and testJoint suddenly becomes a NoneType.

def setupLights(self):
    for item in self.lights:            
        slight = Spotlight('slight'+item[0])
        slight.setColor((1, 1, 1, 1))
        lens = PerspectiveLens()
        #lens.setFov(150)
        slight.setLens(lens)
        #slight.showFrustum()