Starting Tips and Questions

Hello, Panda3D forum.

I have to create a “game” in Panda3D with Python (Thats our Project in school). I have some experience with C++ and I looked through the manual a bit.

My first question would be: What genre should i take? I thought about Jump 'n Run, but I dont have much experience with level design and modeling…

oh yes… Ego shooter or violent based games arent allowed… obviously :>

I have about a year to finish it… I want to make an easy game with good graphics (I saw a few pics in ‘Screenshots’ and they were great!)

Also: Do I have to go through the entire manual? I mean, I have time but theres lots of stuff O.o

Thanks
-sharkz

Go through the manual it will help a lot, and look at the examples that ship with the engine. “Roaming Ralph” is the basic thing when it comes to controlling your game avatar and walking on uneven terrain. “Asteroids” is a great example on implementing game-play mechanics. “Looking and Gripping” can teach you a lot about controlling joints and attaching objects to them.

clcheung’s Demmomaster is also a grand source of knowledge and it shows some cool stuff that you can do with Panda3D: discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic.php?t=5915

Welcome! I’ll let others give opinions as to a likely genre for your game. Ultimately, of course, it’s up to you; and the best answer might be “whatever kind of game you would most want to play.”

After years of getting complaints along the lines of “the documentation is way too sparse,” it’s a refreshing change to get the opposite complaint. :slight_smile:

No, you don’t need to read the entire manual; it discusses many topics that you don’t need for a typical game. But you should at least read the opening topics carefully, and you should be prepared to look in the manual first whenever you have a question about something. :slight_smile:

David

thank you very much for your fast response =)