[Solved] For loop appending/updating a list/dict question

I am not sure what to forum to post it in, so I will post this here. I haven’t put this code in panda but I will soon after I figure out this list problem.

I am fairly new to python and so if you can give me any advice on my coding would be great!

So I am currently working on a solar system generator and have a problem with lists/dicts. This is the current code I am working on.

import random

r = {"t": [] }
r["t"] = ['Planet 1', 'Planet 2', 'Planet 3']

y = {'Planet Type': '', 'Planet Name': '', 'Location List': []}

for x in range(3):
	planet = random.randint(1,2)
	if planet == 1:
		y["Planet Type"] = "Terrestrial"
		r["t"][x] = y
	else:
		y["Planet Type"] = "Gas Giant"
		r["t"][x] = y

I wanted to roll randomly to see if the planet is a terrestrial planet or a gas giant and then append the type of planet in Y and then update the y to the R dictionary.

When I run my current code it runs the “for - loop” on it runs the r[“t”][x] 3 times and updates all the planets to be what ever it rolled. It then runs the random again and updates all three planets to be the same planet on what ever it rolled again.

I want to update the planet type once for first planet in loop 1 then start loop 2 and update the planet type for that planet then start loop 3 and do the same thing

Can anyone teach me a way to do this?

Also my second question is, In my current program I am using a lot of dictionaries and list to keep every thing neat so it currently looks like this:

planetInfo = {"Planet Name": '',"Planet Type": '', "Planet Char":'', "inSystem Loc": '', "inPlanet Loc List": [],}
systemInfo = {"Star Type": '',"PlanetNum": '',"Planet List":[planetInfo ]}
galaxyList = [systemInfo]

picture of how the code is suppose to look. To view it copy and paste it directly into ur IDE. looks like crap while its on the webpage

galaxyList = [ Star system 1] = {"Star Type": '',"PlanetNum": '',"Planet List":[ planet List]}