[SOLVED] 2d rotate : changing the pivot of a sprite.

Hello,

I want to rotate a sprite. The default seems to rotate around the center on the sprite. Which quite logical. But I want to rotate my sprite around another pivot, the middle of the left edge in my case.

what is the best solution ? I am new to panda3d so I am still diving into the documentation but at this time I did not find the good solution.

Do I need to create a new node and parent my sprite to it ?

Is there any good sample about it ?

regards,

Nicolas

Which sprites? Are you talking about particles? Or maybe billboards?

I talk about sprite I have loaded using loader.loadTexture or loader.loadModel (for egg file created with egg-texture-cards).

Is there another way to load texture to make sprites ?

Thats all gonna have to be done with geometry. Theres nothing in Panda3D to do that, in fact I’ve never heard of a game engine that offered such a feature.

@ov3rcl0ck you mean the pivot need to be setted outside of panda3D … I understand but when I create an egg file with egg-texture-cards (for exemple) I did not see how to modifye the geometry.

The only solution is to use a DCC (max, maya, …) to create a plan with the pivot where I want ?

Any advices ?

Are the sprites in 2D or 3D space? If they’re in 3D (billboards) then take a look at the code for controlling the camera in the panda3d tutorial. http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Controlling_the_Camera

sorry I did not specify …
so no it is not a bilboard.
I add my texture to “render2d”.

from what I understand and read, this should work:

def spinObject(self, yourSprite, pivotPoint, distFromPoint, task):
        angleDegrees = task.time * 6.0
        angleRadians = angleDegrees * (pi / 180.0)
        yourSprite.setPos((distFromPoint * sin(angleRadians))+pivotPoint.x, 0, (-distFromPoint * cos(angleRadians)) + pivotPoint.y)
        return Task.cont

//call this per spinning sprite where:
//yourSprite = object node of the sprite