solar system generator and gravity simulation eventual MMO

code.google.com/p/stableorbit/

Part game part distributed science research.

TL;DR

People playing the free to play MMO space conquest game will be helping scientists create more accurate models of distant solar systems.

Long time lurker first time poster. I just wanted to thank you guys for the excellent community and engine you provide. Even though I’ve been working with Panda for about two years now on a side project your forums and documentation are so complete I never needed to post anything.

I figured it was time to introduce myself and my project in case anyone might be interested.

My name is Collin Schroeder, I’m a Seinor in the CS program at UAA (Anchorage). I’ll be starting a MS soon. I work full time for a government contractor building web applications.

I teamed up with a physics student (Ryan Haynes) to try and speed up a monti carlo solar system generator he had been trying to build. Initially he and I were unable to create planets and stars that would produce any orbits whatsoever.

I used a GA approach in an attempt to speed things up. Through countless hours of parameter meddling the Genetic Algorithm eventually led us to a more general solution which we could rapidly produce orbits and star systems without the need for the GA.

In its current form I have both a client and a server. a client may choose to download previously generated systems from the server or choose to generate a new one and upload it afterwards.