Shaders, inking and problem attenuating light with distance

First off, boilerplate apology/disclaimer, I am new to shaders as of yesterday.

I’m trying, ultimately, to get an ink-drawing effect, as though the game world were drawn on paper with simple ink outlines. I thought the way to accomplish this would be to use almost the same set-up as the “Tut-Cartoon-Advanced” sample included with panda3d (one shader generates a 2d image of the scene in which surface normals are rendered as colors, then another shader runs edge-detection over that to draw the ink outlines), but to hit all the models with .setAlphaScale(0), so you only see the outlines. And it works, kind of. A problem I ran into was that parallel planes facing the camera but at different distances have their normals pointing in the same direction, and thus the ink shader cannot differentiate between them and does not draw a complete outline. Screenshot of what I’m talking about below, you can see the issue in the normals buffer at the bottom-left:

I thought a solution might be to modify the normalGen.sha shader that generates the normals buffer to take depth/distance into account. I thought the way to do that was to parent the “light” node that the shader uses to calculate the normals to the camera (so that it will move with the player), and then calculate how “bright” the normals-color should be based on the distance between the vertices and the light node. I attempted to do this with mixed results… Here’s the shader code:

//Cg
//
//Cg profile arbvp1 arbfp1

void vshader(float4 vtx_position : POSITION,
             float4 vtx_normal : NORMAL,
            out float4 l_position : POSITION,
            out float3 l_color : TEXCOORD0,
			out float l_bright: COLOR,
            uniform float4x4 mat_modelproj,
			uniform float4 mspos_light,
            uniform float4x4 itp_modelview)
{
	l_position=mul(mat_modelproj, vtx_position);
	l_color=(float3)mul(itp_modelview, vtx_normal);