Series of questions regarding python and panda

hey there, i am pretty new to both python and panda3d but am very excited about what they can do together, and what i can potentially do with them…

i am working on a project that has a scripter on it that is familiar with python, but i would like to learn more about python on my own so that i can better direct the outcome of scripting, and even help write or conceptualize some of the logic and script ideas…

in any case, i figured i would just ask one question, and then go on from there… and keep adding to THIS post rather than just making individual topics for every question i have… that way all of my questions and answers can be seen in one spot… convenient…

anyway, i figured this is a basic enough question to start off with… may even be TOO basic…

i noticed the first script in the manual is just

import.direct.directbase.DirectStart
run()

now then, what is the “import.direct.directbase.DirectStart”

what does it mean, what can you do with it…
it says in the manual that “DirectStart loads most of the other Panda3D modules, and causes the 3D window to appear.”

what modules does that load?

ok, i just looked in the panda files, and found the direct start file in there at

C:\Panda3D-1.5.3\direct\src\directbase

i looked inside the file, and it said this…

print ‘DirectStart: Starting the game.’

from direct.showbase import ShowBase
ShowBase.ShowBase()

so, i figured that the directstart modules task, is simply to print something on the screen and then import another module…

am i right?

yes, plus it sets up showbase.

also, i have found the NEXT module, the one that is loaded by DirectStart, called ShowBase

i found it in this directory…

C:\Panda3D-1.5.3\direct\src\showbase

now my next question, since ive opened the showbase file, and found it to actually hold the BULK of the info contained in directstart, how do i utilize the functions that are defined in showbase?