SceneEdit or LevelEditor

I am looking to try gaming. I have been a programmer for over 17 years doing data basing. It is boring. I have found that gaming is more of a challenge. I understand 3D concepts, and understand that models, levels, and terrain have to be created and put into an environment to make a game.

Looking at Panda3D, it looks quite challenging, mostly because I will have to learn Python.

On the other hand, I am quite surprised from all of the talk about SceneEditor and LevelEditor, that no one who is a Panda guru, has put much effort into fixing those two editors.

What is a game engine without good tools? It is like a car without an engine. It won’t go anywhere.

Welcome to Panda!

If you are already familiar with C++, you will find Python a breeze to pick up. And everyone I know who has learned Python after learning C++ finds it suddenly becomes their favorite language. Furthermore, unlike graphics engines that have their own custom scripting language, learning Python will be useful to you in all sorts of areas that have nothing to do with Panda or with 3-D graphics.

If you’ve been reading the forum posts about the level editor, then you are already familiar with the fundamental problems posed by a generic level editor, and the arguments for and against attempting to maintain one.

But the single biggest thing a level editor needs is a champion, an individual who is willing to design, build, and continue to maintain a level editor that will suit not only his own needs, but also the needs of others. We don’t yet have anyone who has stepped up to be that champion. Are you willing to be?

David

If I were to try and fix the scene editor it would take me a very long time to work on it, since I work all day. Also, because I do not know Python, I would be like someone trying to build a car engine without instructions.