Scene designer

Hello,

I am fairly new to panda and the one thing I didn’t find is a good scene designer. Other engines come with great and easy scene design tools. What scene design tools would people recommend for scene editing in Panda. I don’t mean modelling tools like blender or maya but a real scene designer.

I searched the forums but everybody is pointing to a 3d modeller and not a realy scene designer. Hope someone can point me to a good and easy one.

Thanks,

Jeroen

Panda doesn’t have such scene designer at the moment. But it is not a big problem, since you can use any 3D modeler for this purpose. For example, you can create the full scene in Blender and then export it into egg file for use in Panda3D.

I know that you can create them with blender and other modeler software. But I mean a real scene editor… More something like the one in the gamebryo engine.

clooner, no one needed such a scene design in the past. I do space games, other people have done puzzle games. Toow town has their undocumented scene editor but its int he CVS. The scene software for a generic panda game has to be able to do much more then a scene editor for say FPS,RPG or an RTS game.

It’s not that very hard to make a quick’n’dirty editor in panda. I also use that approach for my game.

I wonder how well QuArK would work with Panda?

Well, it looks like there’s some sort of python interface in Quark. If you’re determined enough you could write a script to get Quark’s data out in some format readable by Panda. But out of the box I don’t think it will work very well. If I recall correctly the way quake editors export levels are quite a bit different from how Panda does things.