Rotation of model tangent to sphere

I am a little new to Panda3D and I need some help with rotation.
I have a sphere and a ship. I am keeping track of the ship’s position via latitude (up/down), longitude (left/right), and heading (rotation of the ship) values in degrees. I have a function to position the model at the correct xyz coordinates when given lat and lon, but I also need to be able to rotate the model so it is always tangent to the surface and pointed the right way. I cannot figure out the math for the life of me.

I have been able to get the ship to be tangent no matter the position by setting:
h = longitude
p = -lat + 90
r = 0
but it is always facing up (bow straight north). As soon as I try to rotate it (so that it faces bow east for example), everything goes wrong. P and R both rotate the model about the vertical axis. Can someone explain whether the hpr values are aboslute, or relative, or how they work? They seem to act totally differently depending on what values for R or P I input.

This may be a situation where you would consider Gimbal lock – Gimbal lock - Wikipedia

As for the relativity of the HPR values, I imagine it would depend on how your boat model is parented in the scenegraph. Absolute and relative positioning are available, I believe, depending on how your graph is constructed.

Obbo’s Descent Obbo's Descent (pyweek 30 submission) would seem to have a solution to this issue as a core game feature, so perhaps one of its developers could explicate the details of how that functions.

1 Like

Hi, and welcome! :slight_smile:

So what you basically want to do is to rotate the ship about the normal to the sphere-surface at the current position of the ship. This means that each time your ship changes position, a new coordinate reference frame needs to be defined, where the Z-axis points in the direction of the normal in that new position.