Rendering 3d text using python

Hello guys,

I am totally new in python and panda3d, but trying to make 3d text for text data augmentation.

From the Panda3d manuals, I found that there is a renderMode to make 3d text, RMSolid.

I made very simple code as following, and it does not render any text.

However, when I change textNode = aspect2d.attachNewNode(text) instead of render.attach, it shows 2d text.

Is there any problems with my code for rendering 3d text?

Thank you very much in advance, and please help me a little novice :frowning:

from panda3d.core import *
import sys
import os
from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
from direct.interval.IntervalGlobal import *
from direct.showbase.DirectObject import DirectObject
from direct.showbase import Loader

ShowBase()
fontPath = ConfigVariableString("on-screen-debug-font", "cmtt12").value
font = loader.loadFont(fontPath, color = (1,1,1,1), renderMode = TextFont.RMSolid)
font2 = loader.loadFont(fontPath, color = (1,1,1,1))
text = TextNode('text')
text.setFont(font)
text.setText("Hello, World!")
text.setFont(font)
text.setAlign(TextNode.ACenter)
textNode = render.attachNewNode(text)
textNode.setScale(0.2)
run()

Hi and welcome :slight_smile: !

The cmtt12 font is loaded from an .egg file and as such would be a StaticTextFont, whose render mode cannot be changed.
Instead, try loading a .ttf font file; I’ve just tried this myself and it works fine.

(If you can’t actually see the text, you’ll need to pull back the camera using the built-in camera controls, or call base.disable_mouse() and set the camera position to a negative Y-value, or set the position of the text itself to a positive Y-value.)

Thank you alot!

I downloaded arial.ttf and tried RMSolid, finally in works!

From now on, I would like to figure out how to put some textures on those three-dimensional text and how to take a picture of the texts!

Thank you again :slight_smile: