reduce number of baches

Hi, im fairly new to Panda3d and got some problems understanding the differences of GeomNode, PandaNode and Nodepath.
I adapted the Procedural-Cube example that comes with the Panda installation to display a minecraft-like fractal landscape.

the base idea is to repeat the following lines with the appropriate square coordinates.

square0=makeSquare( 1,-1,-1, 1, 1, 1)
snode.addGeom(square0)

Now comes the problem. After creating some thousand squares the frame rate drops drastically. I think the snode consists of to many batches and i tried to apply the flattenstrong() command to remove all the batches but flattenstrong is a function of nodepath. Is there a way to reparent the snode from addGeom to nodepath? (i only found the function to create a PandaNode as child of nodepath but that didn´t seem to be very helpfull)

Some screen shots of the project and the render analyzer:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/717/landscapefo.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/854/landscape1.jpg/

A cup of coffee just rebooted my brain an i found the solution.
In the example that i modified the geomnode was attached to a render object:
cube=render.attachNewNode(snode)
and i can call flattenStrong with the cube object.

Welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

Let me start off by explaining the fundamental differences between these classes. PandaNode is the base object for every single node in the scene. GeomNode is also a PandaNode. It inherits from PandaNode, and is a specific type of PandaNode; in this case, it represents a node that can hold renderable geometry in the form of Geom objects. But as it inherits from PandaNode, it’s still a PandaNode like every other node in the scene graph and can do everything that a PandaNode can.