Random freezeing with uncapped framerate

Hi, I am rather new to Panda and already encountered an issue that is weird to me.
I’m writing simple 3d Tetris where tetrominoes are moved using posInterval() but sometimes a random freeze happened. A falling puzzle would suddenly stop and then after 1/2s appear much lower like the game was running in the back and just the screen wasn’t updated. In addition, the issue stopped when I print ed something every frame or connected the app to pstat. Finally, I fixed it by setting const frame-rate ;D.
My question is what could have been the reason for that random freezing?

Check out the code from the lesson. https://www.panda3d.org/manual/?title=Using_Intervals_to_move_the_Panda If there is no frieze, then the problem is in your code.

1 Like

OH, freezing happens on this example too, but also setting const fps solves the problem.

Actually intervals are unnecessary to move. Surprisingly, the panda offers unpopular textbook solutions. Intervals have a problem, the time that the panda is trying to calculate to move is not constant for each frame. Object properties are also blocked, for example, you cannot control the Z axis. Use task manager for this purpose.

I changed the code:

from math import pi, sin, cos

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
from direct.task import Task
from direct.actor.Actor import Actor

class MyApp(ShowBase):
    def __init__(self):
        ShowBase.__init__(self)

# Disable the camera trackball controls.
        self.disableMouse()

# Load the environment model.
        self.scene = self.loader.loadModel("models/environment")
        # Reparent the model to render.
        self.scene.reparentTo(self.render)
        # Apply scale and position transforms on the model.
        self.scene.setScale(0.25, 0.25, 0.25)
        self.scene.setPos(-8, 42, 0)

# Add the spinCameraTask procedure to the task manager.
        self.taskMgr.add(self.spinCameraTask, "SpinCameraTask")