Python PandaNode.decodeFromBamStream hangs script

I am using the SDK development build Panda3D-SDK-1.10.0pre-71e18eb (32-bit Python 2.7 build) on my Windows 7 64-bit machine. I use the 32-bit version since I am aiming to write an application that works in both 32-bit and 64-bit environments from identical source.

I am trying to receive a bam stream and decode it into a node so I can visualize it in the viewer as in the below.

I understand what the assertion is directly saying but I’m new to Panda and not sure what it exactly means with respect to my use of it. Does anyone know what is happening or has any suggestions? Thanks and much appreciated in advance!

node = PandaNode.decodeFromBamStream(inputStream)
if node == None:
    #do error things
else:
     #do things I want

Sometimes, this method spams assertion failures from putil\datagramBuffer.cxx to the console with the below error messages. With print statements, I’ve narrowed it down to the decodeFromBamStream method eventually causing the assertion failures. I also verified that the inputStream is not an empty string, not None, and actually has data. Throwing this call into a try/except statement also does not prevent the assertion from hanging the script.

Assertion failed : _read_offset + num_bytes <= _data.size() at line 130 of c:\buildslave\sdk-windows-i386\build\panda\src\putil\datagramBuffer.cxx

Eventually, if it spams long enough, it mixes this one in as well.

Assertion failed: (uint64_t)num_bytes == num_bytes_64 at line 126 of c:\buildslave\sdk-windows-i386\build\panda\src\putil\datagramBuffer.cxx

It means that the stream is corrupted. Specifically, there seems to be a datagram with a size field in the header that exceeds the actual data that is available in the stream.

Are you seeing this with a .bam file produced by Panda tools? Or are you using a custom constructed .bam stream? What is the origin of the .bam stream? There might be a better way to do what you are trying to do.