problem with normal map

it is my first attempt at using normal map and my texture displays in black and white in panda.

I set up two layers, normals and colors (nor and cor) for my material in blender then panda displays a colored texture.

I haven`t seen any bump effect till now…

any help?
thanks.

did you enable the autoshaders and added a light to your scene?

yes, the same code found in the sample program:

# add a light
        self.lightpivot = lightNode.attachNewNode("lightpivot")
        self.lightpivot.setPos(0,-20,110)

plight = PointLight('plight')
        plight.setColor(Vec4(1, 1, 1, 1))
        plight.setAttenuation(Vec3(0.7,0.05,0))

plnp = self.lightpivot.attachNewNode(plight)

self.levelModel.setLight(plnp)
        self.levelModel.setShaderInput("light", plnp)

# add an ambient light
        alight = AmbientLight('alight')
        alight.setColor(Vec4(0.05, 0.05, 0.05, 1))
        alnp = lightNode.attachNewNode(alight)
        self.levelModel.setLight(alnp)

self.levelModel.setShaderAuto()

I’m using Blender 2.49 Chicken Exporter version R91 and Python 2.6.6

I assume you added tangents and binormals to your model?

David

The Chicken Exporter has two options enabled by default ‘Tangents & Binormals’ and ‘Force Relative Tex’.

I believe it added tangents & binormals, is it possible that the script is not working?

Well, there are three different pieces involved here:
(1) the Python code
(2) the model
(3) the texture

Try swapping out each one of these, one at a time, with the same piece from the sample program, to see if you can narrow down which one is causing the problem. That might help you gain some insight.

David

Setting Nor in one place is not enough. You have to set it as a normal map in another place too…