Panda3D's level editor / scene editor

Hello Panda3D community,

I am relatively new to Panda3D and have start working on developing my game with via python scripts. I am currently attempting to use Panda3D’s level editor (in direct/leveleditor). I am having mixed results. Originally, I installed version 1.7.0 and ran ppython then typed in “from direct.leveleditor import LevelEditorStart” and even “from direct.leveleditor import *”. Each time I received an error stating “No module named wx”. As I have little to no experience with python, I spent a few minutes troubleshooting to no avail. I am assuming there is some kind of library or external reference that I don’t have configured properly (similar to not being able to find a header file in C/C++?)

Second attempt, I reverted to uninstalling 1.7 and attempting to run on a more stable version. I installed 1.6.2 and did the same thing. Now I am getting an error that says “No module named otp.avatar”. I am beginning to think there is some additional setup needed to run this editor. I found the wiki page that describes how to use the editor, however it doesn’t explain how to launch it. I found instructional videos in the manual but I believe they are somewhat dated as they refer to launching the “scene editor”.

Anyway, all/any help is much appreciated.

Right, if you haven’t yet you have to install wx, which is a library for user interfaces if I’m not mistaken. I’m also not sure if the editor can be used before 1.7.x.

But wait for someone else to confirm this.

Yes, it appeared that I have to install wxPython before continuing. Working now.

Why don’t you just use Blender with the Chicken exporter? Its interface is much easier to use, and you can export arbitrary tags and empties for object placement.

To get the NodePath to an empty in your level file, just use .find(’**/’). To get a tag value, just use .getTag(’’)

Pretty easy if you ask me.