Panda3D vs Torque MMO Kit

Hello,

I have been programming with Python for nearly three years, but in my life I have programmed professional web application with PHP (and I still do) for 8 years.

I would like to start a new little adventure: developing a small, light RPG gam e for an existing game community. Basically, players who have access to the community will be able to create a character in this game and play with/against other. The game will feature a simple but well planned battle system, a small town with an arena where players could battle each other, fight against monsters, and stuff like that. For the rest, the town will simply be a place to chat, with some shops to buy equipment and play mini-games.

Since I would like to use Python for this project I discovered Panda3D and the Torque MMO Kit, which also features Python scripting.

Comparing the two engines isn’t easy. It seems pretty obvious Panda3D is an overall more powerful engine, probably because it is also meant for the big production studios, but worries me is the lack of a well defined pipeline. For example, having an easy to use map/quest (even though quests in my game would be very simple) editor would save a lot of development time. According to my experience, when developing projects like this, a lot of time is spent in developing the tools to maintain it. Torque, in particular the MMO kit, has all you need to get started, and in particular a great map editor.

Speaking of graphics, we want to avoid the realistic, generlic look at all costs - we are trying to develop a rather unique, gothic, cartoon style for our game, which would let us use simpler models while maintaining a well defined atmosphere.

Realistically, what would you think is the best choice for my project? Has anybody tried both engines? What is your experience with Panda?