Panda3D slow startup?

Hi, I’m new to Panda and so far it seems promising, its major selling points being the liberal license to me and the ongoing project to target npapi/activex. The reliance of python annoys me (if there was more focus on c++ panda would be the most popular open source engine, imho) but it seems you can do anything on c++, so I’m gonna give it a try.

The major problem I’ve found so far is the slow startup of a panda app. A hello world in Irrlicht, for example, starts up in 0.1 seconds aprox, instantenously. And this is with the loading of an animated model. On the other hand, a Panda3d hello world (that is just an empty gray screen) takes 1.5 seconds to load! Now you may think this is nitpicking but it’s a show-stopper for me. No reason to use Panda if Irrlicht gives me an instant startup, which increases user satisfaction very noticeably, specially for casual games. Also, if it takes so long to load needlessly, it says very bad things abot the engine in general.

So, I’m asking the regulars here, is there any way to fix this? Even though I’m using c++, is python the culprit here? If so, any way of get completely rid of it? (Having to rebuild Panda3d is ok with me).

not really an answer, but more a sidenote:
i’m coding only in python, but even here on my crappy computer an unoptimized panda python script needs 1,2 seconds to start and quit instantly.

Huh, I never thought about it before. Now that you mention it, a second or so is a bit slow for startup.

Looking closer, it looks like most of that time is in the WinGraphicsPipe constructor, where it’s attempting to measure the CPU speed, strictly for the purpose of putting it in the log. For whatever reason, measuring the CPU speed appears to take a second or two.

Clearly, we don’t need to make every Panda user query their CPU speed at application startup time. I’ll wrap that code in a condition based on a config variable.