Panda3d "On Rails"

Hi, After review a lot of engine to make my first game, I think Panda3d fit the bill.

I have no experience in gaming development but instead a strong 10+ years working in Delphi, .NET and python/django.

The project look good, and as close to be dev-friendly. But I think something better can be done.

When Ruby On Rails hits the mass, become a revolution. Later, frameworks on python like Django show how a solid & oppinated framework can lead to huge time-saving and high-quality work.

Please take a look at djangoproject.com/

We in the django community work in a kind-of massive around-the-world team because the project leaders provide a solid foundation where is possible to plug 3d-party code with not effort and very minimal adjusting.

That is possible because separated teams work hard to provide small but focussed work. For example somebody do a ratting system. Other a registration system. Other a photo-resizing system. Other go to djangosnippets.org/ for the small snippets. Now, If I wanna do a website, I grab the sub-projects around and literally in minutes have a complete functional website to play. Only need tweak the html and add my own code.

Let’s start for something basic but usefull. Imagine a command:

makeproject.py --name MyGame

And do the project folder:

• MyGame
    – Assets
    ------ characters
    ------ world
    ---- Models
    ---- Sound
    – code
    — world.py
    — actor.py
    — gamer.py
    main.py

(Is only a idea)

Obviously, anyone can later put the things their way, but small steps like this provide the background to work up.

Then, start to work in that kind of usefull sub-things that commonly anybody can use.

For example:

• A generic camera system
  • A weather system
  • A AI based character system
  • A score system
  • A joystic system
  • A keyboard system
    etc…

the point is focus in build lateral-code (no big gamelogic of sub-games)

What do you think?