I am very beginner, what does it mean:

def onCollision(entry):
global groundImgChanged
geom1 = entry.getGeom1()
geom2 = entry.getGeom2()
body1 = entry.getBody1()
body2 = entry.getBody2()

I meant geom1, geom2, body1, body2

It is from tutorial and example posted by pro-rsoft( discourse.panda3d.org/viewtopic … 07c7b38071), but what is this or where can I find the answer.

Sorry for stupid question

geom1 is the first geom in the collision, geom2 the second geom in the collision, body1 the first body in the collision, body2 the second body in the collision.

Make sure that they aren’t empty before using them. E.g.:

if body1:
  print "body1 is valid and can be used"

otherwise you might get a nasty crash if a geom has no body.

If your a complete beginner ODE is probably biting off more than you can chew, especially as using it involves going off and understanding the ODE manual, however…

ODE consists of two effectively separate, though designed to work together, systems - collision handling and rigid body physics. The rigid body physics simply makes bodies move acording to the rules of physics - Newtons equations basically, whilst the collision detection system handles when things collide.

onCollision is an event that is being called every time two geoms collide, a geom being an object in the collision detection system. The bodies are the associated objects in the rigid body physics system, each controlling their respective geoms. In other words the bodies make the geoms move by applying the rules of physics, and the geoms tell the bodies when they have collided, so the physics can take into account the collision. (onCollision is not involved in this however - that is all being handled automatically by ODE.)