Panda3D for GIS?

Hello!
I’m new to both Python and Panda3D and I was wondering if anyone has experience using Panda for GIS applications? I’d like to create a 3D scene using a digital elevation model and possibly a satellite image but I’m not sure where to start. I’m under the impression the TIFF and TIN files I’ll be using are compatible with Panda.
Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

I haven’t used GIS in panda3d directly, however panda comes with two different terrain systems (heightmap and geomipterrain) which uses greyscale images for heightmaps for elevation data. If you are a bit more specific with what you are trying to achieve we can be more helpful.

Thank you for your reply.
I’d like to create a 3d representation of a digital elevation model, basically digitally recreating the elevations expressed in the DEM. DEMs are grayscale images showing higher elevations as lighter, so I imagine they’ll be suitable. Rather than having to create the contours of the terrain like you folks do for games, they are provided in the image.
I’m not sure if that clears up my goal. I just need a 3d surface but I want to make it from a digital elevation model of an actual geographic location. If I can get that to work, at some point I would like to overlay a satellite image of the same area to make the surface look more natural.
Here is an example DEM: http://gsp.humboldt.edu/cwis438/Websites/HDH/DataSources/DataSet_Info.php?DataSetID=293&CallingPage=%2Fcwis438%2FWebSites%2FHDH%2FDataSources%2FDataSet_List.php%3FSearchString%3Ddem%26AdvancedSearch%3D0%26CurrentRow%3D0%26OrderByField%3DTitle%26DescendingFlag%3D0%26Title%3D%26Recommended%3D0%26StandardWindowFlag%3D1%26WebsiteID%3D1%26AreaID%3D&CallingLabel=Back%20To%20Data%20Sets
This one is really huge and I’ll clip it down considerably (maybe a 2km square). I can also convert the raster into a TIN fairly easily.