OSX 64-bit and moving to Cocoa

Hi,
I’m trying to compile Panda3D in OSX Lion with Python 2.7 running in 64-bit. From what I gather, the main issue is that Apple has deprecated some of the old AGL mechanisms that are used in osxdisplay, which causes compile issues. (e.g. It can’t find GetMainDevice() in osxGraphicsStateGuardian.cxx, which is an old QuickDraw call.) I’m not an OSX expert, but it seems like it shouldn’t be to hard to setup a GL context, so I figured I’d dig into it a bit to see if I can make the fix.

Then I realized that maybe someone already has or is in the process of making the change to using Cocoa, as there is already the osxGraphicsWindow.mm file which includes Cocoa. So, before I investigate further, I wanted to ask what’s going on here? Are there people working on the OSX layer to upgrade to Cocoa, or are there people more familiar with Panda who might want to help?

Perhaps osxGraphicsWindow is using some calls to Cocoa, but it is primarily using the Carbon interfaces, which Apple never bothered to port to 64-bits. Porting the whole thing to Cocoa would be a significant undertaking; there are many issues to overcome on the way, starting with the fact that Cocoa wants complete control over the application.

Thanks for your reply.

I assumed this level of OS specific code underneath OpenGL/Panda should be pretty minimal, although I have no experience working at this level beyond using glut while doing stuff like the NeHe tutorials years ago. Are there aspects of this low-level windowing that percolate out through Panda, or can it be replaced as long as the interface remains the same? For example, is Panda relying on old pixel formats or something that has fundamentally changed?