Object picking without mouse

Hi, I have a snapshot of a model from a camera view. I have a render object. In another forum, I saw that you can use object picking to pick a point using mouse, and get the 3D point corresponding to that point. I have a different problem. I somehow get the outline of the snapshot. I want to find the 3D points correspnding to the edge (outline) points (without using mouse). I can pass the (x, y) coordinates, but I don’t know where to do that. Sorry if it’s too trivial. I am a newbie in Panda. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

I think it’s not trivial as far as I understand your question. If you explain context in which it would be used, then may be we’ll find workaround or more simple way.

Thanks ninth for the reply. Actually, I am working on find the outline pixels of a model’s snapshot as seen by a camera. In other words, suppose the I take the model’s snapshot from a camera position. Then somehow I find the outline (edge) of the snapshot using some edge finding technique. I want to find the 3D points corresponding to all the 2D edge points (i.e. points on the outline).

I have found a way to do that by simulating mouse clicks, but the problem is the Picker class I use, uses the base.camera, whereas I have to have my own custom camera. Can you please give me a solution, or a workaround. Thanks in advance.

Hmm. Ok I have not ready solution, but I can try to give you idea.
You already have bunch of points, corresponds to the 2D edge, right? If so, then you should test intersection of ray, which extruded from each 2D point and the plane, which parallel with camera viewport. Your plane should positioned in the center of the needed object bounding box.
About own camera - each camera has lens and you can use this lens to extrude your ray.
myCamera.node().getLens()
Example with ray-to-plane intersection is here Super-fast mouse ray collisions with ground plane