Now for something completely different

Hey all… My background is in video, 2D, and 3D animation, mainly as a hobbyist but with professional logo animation and effects experience. I also have experience as a concert video performer and I have been brainstorming about a VJ tool that could utilize user made polygon mesh animations for concerts, parties, live events etc… eyecandy essentially — a game engine seemed the obvious choice and Panda is definitely the obvious choice there. The specs would be very simple but the most important would be the use of primary and secondary displays-- the primary being the GUI and the secondary would be the output…beyond that the execution would seem to be relatively straightforward-- really just a way to get sequences made in Maya to be manipulatable in a live environment via user input. My scripting skills are still developing but I am somewhat comfortable with MEL-- and Python is an obvious next step here.

if you are still listening, these are my questions:

a) how can I get Panda to work with a MIDI controller?
(assuming this would require C++ which I don’t know, but have seen C++ libraries available for online and I am blessed with friends who know C++) --also I realize I could fall back on a midi to keypress translator which may serve just as well…

b) How would you make a secondary display in Panda? I can only make one window…

c) If you, as experienced Panda developers, were to undertake this venture, how would you go about it from a development standpoint?

Thanks for any and all input, I am excited to find yet another tool for artistic expression and another online community to share vision with.

dp

Hi, welcome to panda3d

while i didnt entirely read your entire history textblock your questions answers would be:

a) search for a python midi library/module (there are severals out there , i’m sure one will fit your needs)

b)http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Creating_Windows_and_Buffers