No module named direct.showbase.ShowBase

I am new with Panda3D, so I downloaded the 1.7.2 SDK. I have tried lots of versions of python, like 2.5, 2.6, 2.7, 3.1, and 3.2. I used the Hello World tutorial for panda 3D, and I put in this code:

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase

class MyApp(ShowBase):

def __init__(self):
        ShowBase.__init__(self)

app = MyApp()
app.run()

Then I get this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “<pyshell#0>”, line 1, in
from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
ImportError: No module named direct.showbase.ShowBase

I don’t know if I installed it wrong or something, but if anybody could help me I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

You need to use the specific version of Python that came with the 1.7.2 SDK. You’ll find it inside c:\Panda3D-1.7.2. You can also try running “ppython” which is a shortcut to this particular version of Python.

David

Do you know where it would be on mac?

“python2.5” should work, just make sure to run it in 32-bits mode. You can also try running “ppython”.

I still have not figured it out, but I decided to go on my windows computer instead, and now it works on windows. Thanks for helping!

For people who are experiencing this issue, check your PYTHONHOME and PYTHONPATH environment variables. You can do this by running ‘env’ from the command line (this should work for Windows, Linux and OSX). If the value of these do not match where you installed Panda3D, you need to use your system’s method of setting environment variables (‘set’ and ‘export’ are likely candidates, google 'how do i set environment variables in '). I suggest creating a script you run when you first open your command prompt to start working with Panda3D, as this ensures that you do not affect any other software that is running on your system.

Good Luck!

I’m not exactly sure if this is quite the same pitfall as werts15 is posting about…