newbies flight sim game (collisions)

I’d like help to make a flight sim game

I want it to just have a plane that moves by physics and forces, according to it’s rotation and thrust
(but im not good at understanding the physics engine yet)

using “real” physics on airplanes is difficult since calculation the air flowing around the wings and the plane istself is VERY cpu-heavy and impossible to do in runtime. you can fallback on a simplified model like flightgear does. they are using JSBSim which might be intresting for you,too. http://jsbsim.sourceforge.net/

if this is still too difficult for you you can write your own functions in python which defines the plane’s mocement. it’s not that hard and the result can be quite nice,too. most flight-sim games have their own simple math. :slight_smile: it can be done using some vector-math, i guess there should be some stuff on the net about it.
feel free to ask further :slight_smile:

greetings
ThomasEgi

Calculating the real physics on an airplane in a game in real time is just impossible. Aerodynamics are too complex.
So all you can do is calculate the physics for a special case.

That is, you know your plane can fly, you know that the wings of your plane will have a lift that only depends on the speed and the altitude.
So basically you’re going down to simple vector math in this special case. Which means you won’t need a physics engine at all.
Ater all you can only apply forces, and forces are vectors.

I dont want aerodynamics; i meant applying simple forces to the plane, as in thrust and then it turns with Hpr changes (i was looking at the physics engine in the manual)

[edit] i finally got it (somewhat) working
Now, i need help figuring out changing direction, esp relative to the plane, as in pressing left, instead of rotating by global axis, rotates the plane by its axes
or, to make the plane turn like a normal plane

also, how can you change a force, ie. change the thrust