New with ODE

Hey I am new with ODE. I am currently setting up a little demo to shoot a ball out of a cannon and have it bounce off a wall and back to the surface floor. I am having some confusion however. I cannot determine how to make walls. After reading through the manual it seems that the only auto collision you can do with ODE involves colliding with the surface floor. I see nothing in the manual showing otherwise. Can anyone give me some examples or tell me how to have objects bounce off other objects through auto-collide?

It’s done just the same way.

You just make an OdeBoxGeom, OdeTriMeshGeom, or any other. You don’t set a Body to it, so it will be a static object. And then you just shoot whatever you want at it, and it will bounce off. AutoCollide (or collisions in general) is about any collisions, not just the floor.

There’s actually no difference between a floor, a ceiling, walls or anything else in ODE.

The manual only shows floor because that’s the simplest example, not because there are any limitations.

The problem with that is, once I set up the second static object gravity is screwed up. I have standard gravity of -9.81. When I set up the ground being like so

cm = CardMaker("left")
    cm.setFrame(-20, 20, -20, 20)

ground = render.attachNewNode(cm.generate())
    ground.setPos(-20, 0, 10);   ground.lookAt(-100, 0, 10)
    groundGeomLeft = OdePlaneGeom(self.space, Vec4(-1, 0, 0, 0))

goundGeomLeft.setCollideBits(BitMask32(0x00000001))
groundGeomLeft.setCategoryBits(BitMask32(0x00000001))

groundCard = render.attachNewNode(cm.generate())
    groundCard.setPos(0, 0, 0); groundCard.lookAt(0, 0, -100)
    groundGeomBottom = OdePlaneGeom(self.space, Vec4(0, 0, 1, 0))
    groundGeomBottom.setCollideBits(BitMask32(0x00000001))
    groundGeomBottom.setCategoryBits(BitMask32(0x00000001))