New Website Feedback

Hi, everyone. I hope that everyone is enjoying the new features of Panda3D 1.10 so far! I’ve been able to see a little bit of the hard work going on behind the scenes to make this release and rebrand happen, and I have to say that I’m extremely excited to see the where future of this engine goes.

Just to quickly introduce myself: My name is Joey Ziolkowski; I’m a web designer and game developer who created the new Panda3D website. I’ve enjoyed hearing feedback around the community about it, and I’d love to hear more.

If you have any thoughts about the new website – be it positive or negative – feel free to post them here. There’s still plenty of improvements to be made, of course. Here are a few things planned for the future:

• Improve design and navigation of the API Reference/Manual
  • Add a Showcase section for featured user projects and case studies
  • Swap screenshots being used on the website with other projects and games

So, what do you think of this new direction for Panda’s branding and website? Looking forward to your feedback!

2 Likes

Thanks for the website. It looks great and now it have a new modern look!
For the feedback… The website needs some unified top level navigation. So the PANDA3D logo should always have a link to https://panda3d.org/ I can’t go back from discource forums to the main page. Also https://www.panda3d.org/reference/python/ doesn’t have a link to https://panda3d.org/

1 Like

This is a small QoL thing but for pages like the Display Region if you’re on the c++ documentation and click the demo at the bottom, the link will take you to the python example and leave the page in “c++ mode”. Instead, it should let you know there isn’t a c++ example but give you the option to see the python one and encourage you to contribute a c++ one.

Otherwise the new site looks really nice!

[Edit] Another QoL would be setting the webpage title as the page of the manual you’re on so instead of saying “Manual | Panda3D”