new to programming

Hey, i am new to programming of any kind. the most i have is minimal learning from using dreamweaver for making a website a 2 years ago, for a quick intro to tech class i had to take for a requirement freshman year, but i rarely used source and it was nothing but basic. I heard about panda3d from a couple of different places, but it was better explained at the open house this past spring for the entertainment technology center.
off and on i have been thinking out project that i want to do in the future but never knew how it might play out. having some freetime this summer i thought i’d do something that might help further it so when the time came i might have some ideas out there. i downloaded panda3d-1.0.4.exe for my win xp, thinking i might be able to figure it out. i tend to be a quick learner, but do have my momements of getting stuck and not know where to take the next step. some of what i want to do is simple animation that when following the right track has an eductional purpose. I have started looking at the tutorials and attempted the panda in the grass, but i honestly have no idea where i am even supposed to be typing the code thing. it says use python or save as .py or unix or something of that sort, but i dont see it, though i could be looking in the wrong place. what do i do? I also can’t view what i coded, cause i am not sure how to run the program. i think i got close but it blinked open and closed. then some error thing happen i think. becuase i am not keyed into looking at these error list i dont know what it was i just close it and try again. usually getting the same thing. not sure if this explains what i am coming from but thats what i got.

Check out http://www.python.org for tutorials with Python. Some good tutorials that I can think of are How To Think Like a Computer Scientist and Dive Into Python. Try googling those and see what you come up with. You can get both as PDF’s for offline reading.