New Panda3D Layout Proposal

Hey all,

I’m a modeler but in my spare time, I do a lot of web design. Recently I’ve been familiarizing myself with Joomla, a content management system. In an effort to keep busy whilst my Panda3D programmer doesn’t work on our game I decided to prototype a new Panda3D web layout in Joomla. This idea is based off of this post obviously. Now of course not everything is working, its not supposed to anyway… this is merely a concept at this point.

Test Site: http://philipatha.com/panda/

Let me cover some points/ideas:
Color Design - The color scheme of the site is good. Its not hard on the eyes, and green denotes a lot of friendly thoughts, so I’ve kept that.
Layout - The current Panda3D layout is good. Its simple, practical, and to the point. So the basic menu structure has been kept intact. The major changes obviously are positioning of objects. The content area of the page is now larger, the right hand screenshot content is gone I decided on this because these would be better served in a Flash module on the front page. Why? Consider other sites like Torque. Flash is pretty, Flash is an attention grabber. Its also a sign of modernity.
Forum - Joomla can integrate with PHPBB, so the forums should NOT be lost. I didn’t test that here, but it can be done. The important thing here is that the forum width be larger and readable.
Social Networking - Joomla can also be extended to resemble a social networking site, this may or may not be appropriate depending on what the general “image” is that you guys want to continue to show. I’ve created such a network for the Arts & Tech dpt. at my university, you can see it at www.atecpresents.com
Screenshots This is ok, looks good, but it needs to be modernized a bit. Maybe redone in flash. Maybe add a “User submitted screenshots” section as a subtab under main screenshots tab. Again, how much of the “community” aspect do you want to persue.