Need Help

Hi All,

I am a student from Nanyang Polytechnic Singapore, I currently want to make a game using Panda3d, I am newbie in Panda3D.
I am using Panda3D 1.7.0, visual studio 2008, window xp
when I tried to run below code(I tried to use TextNode, the compilation was successfull but when I run it, it was crash, please help).
This is my code

#include “pandaFramework.h”
#include “pandaSystem.h”

PandaFramework framework;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
framework.open_framework(argc, argv);
framework.set_window_title(“Gun Shooter”);

WindowFramework *window = framework.open_window();
if (window != (WindowFramework *)NULL) 
{
	nout << "Opened the window successfully!\n"; 

PT(TextNode) text;
            text = new TextNode("node name");
            text->set_text("Start Game");
            NodePath textNodePath =             window->get_aspect_2d().attach_new_node(text);
            textNodePath.set_scale(0.07);

window->loop_animations(); 
	framework.main_loop();
} 
else 
{
	nout << "Could not load the window!\n";
} 

framework.close_framework();
return(0);

}

This is the crash

#else /* WPRFLAG /
__initenv = envp;
mainret = main(argc, argv, envp);
#endif /
WPRFLAG */

Thanks,
James

A crash at startup usually means you have something wrong in the compilation options. In this case, you have used the wrong compiler. There might or might not be other things wrong as well, I don’t know; but you’ll certainly get a crash if you don’t use MSVS 2009, the same version of the compiler that we used to build Panda3D 1.7.0.

David

Hi David,

Thanks for your prompt reply. I have tried Camera, LoadModel, Task, Texture is working fine using visual studio 2008, but when I tried TextNode it was crashed. Please advise if is it possible if I want still use Visual studio 2008 or do i need to change to Visual studio 2009 so it will be compatible to all the function in Panda3D 1.7.0 ?

Thanks,
James

No, you must switch to 2009. Sorry.