Need help with texture replacemnt.

I’ve been digging through the manual and all of the forum posts concerning the topic of Texture Replacement, but nothing I have found will works.

I’m new to Panda3D, but I have basic programing skills.

I’ve created a Trilon in blender and baked the texture. It Shows up fine in Panda. I then Opened the Texture file and altered it in paint.net and saved it as another png file.

Here is my working code.

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase

class MyApp(ShowBase):

def __init__(self):
        ShowBase.__init__(self)

# Load the environment model.
        self.Trilon = loader.loadModel("models/Trilon.egg")
		# Reparent the model to render.
        self.Trilon.reparentTo(self.render)
        # Apply scale and position transforms on the model.
        self.Trilon.setScale(1,1,1)
        self.Trilon.setPosHpr(0,15,0, 0,0,0)

app = MyApp()
app.run()

I’ve tried adding from panda3d.core import Texture and doing the loader.loadTexture / .setTexture(texture,1) examples I’ve found. I just don’t know what I’m missing. Right now I am just trying to override the baked texture from the get go. Will eventually implement it to be triggered.

Thanks for any help.

Have you seen this post? It seems to indicate that the missing step might be finding the texture stage associated with the texture specified in the model-file. (The same post includes some illustrative code, I believe.)

Yes, I saw that post, but since my object doesn’t have specific names for the UVs I did not attempt it. If I remember correctly, either that post or in another, someone stated that you shouldn’t have to mess with the textureStage.

I did try the example at the bottom of the post that you linked (the one with the smiley), and I couldn’t even get it to run. I assumed that I was missing an import or something. Like I said, I’m new to Panda and to Python.

I will give textureStage a try, though, when I get a chance.

Thanks.